Accident Law Group
Call Today For A Free Consultation 602-262-4ALG

When will cellphones be banned in Arizona?

You may have heard that Arizona passed a law making any cellphone use illegal while driving. This is true, but there are a few critical things you should be aware of.

First of all, it doesn't take effect yet, and it won't for roughly a year. The first day on which the new law applies is July 1, 2018.

On top of that, the law doesn't apply to everyone. It just counts for young drivers, due to their already high crash rates. For a driver with a learner's permit, there will be no texting or calling. After that driver gets a license, he or she still can't call or text for six months.

New drivers already have some restrictions in place. For example, the amount of friends who can be in the car is limited, and new drivers can't be on the roads after midnight. This just adds another rule for those first six months.

So, what happens if a teen breaks the rule and is caught? He or she could be fined $75. On top of that, all of the restrictions, including the others mentioned above, will be extended for a month.

If the teen is then caught breaking the law again, the fine jumps up to $100. The restrictions are also extended, but for a full six more months, doubling the term.

If the teen gets caught a third time, the state simply takes his or her license away for 30 days.

Were you involved in an accident with a teen who was texting or talking on the phone? If so, you may want to know if you have a legal right to seek financial compensation.

Source: Tucson.com, "Ban on new drivers using cell phones behind the wheel now Arizona law," Howard Fischer, accessed July 06, 2017

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Accident Law Group | 3923 S McClintock Dr, Ste 400 | Tempe, AZ 85282 |
Phone: 602-262-4ALG | Toll-Free: 877-707-4ALG | Map & Directions